Ginnie’s Diary (III) [CW series #18]

Ginnie’s Diary, 23rd September 1974

 

This morning the gardai came to our house to ask about Cathy. There were two of them, a woman and a man. How did Cathy seem on the day she went missing. Did she seem upset about something. Who was she talking with at my party. What time was it when she left. They asked mum could they talk to me separately without her and mum said she was fine with that.

I was glad that I had an excuse to go to school late. They asked me lots of questions about Cathy and the O’Kinnears. They wanted to know if Cathy had a good relationship with her parents. Had she ever mentioned any quarrels with Mr or Mrs O’Kinnear. They wanted to know how well I know Cathy’s parents and if I think they are nice. Had she been missing lessons in school. I think they think Mr O’Kinnear might have something to do with it, that maybe he beat Cathy sometimes or kept arguing with her and she ran away because of him. I don’t think so and I told them that I thought that Henry was a very strange boy. She had left with him before the party was finished. They said they had already spoken with him and his aunt and at this time they didn’t think that Henry had anything to do with Cathy running away. He hardly knew her, so they were wondering if she had been angry with her mum and dad perhaps and run away to teach them a lesson. She’ll probably turn up soon they said and me being her best friend and all they thought she might get in touch with me first. They also wanted to know if I had any names of any other friends she might trust particularly so that they could speak with them also, but she is only best friends with me, so I couldn’t give them any other names.

I think they suspect that Mr O’Kinnear could have beaten Cathy, but I told them I would know, she would have said and I would have seen bruises like the black eye on my mum that he gave her the other day.

Mum is becoming good friends with Miss O’Reilly. I don’t like that at all. Yesterday afternoon she invited her over for tea, Miss O’Reilly brought Henry along. Mum made a big fuss about them. Miss O’Reilly seems nice, but Henry gives me the creeps. He makes the little hairs at the back of my neck stand up. This is not good.

I don’t think Cathy ran away. Something bad was done to her. She wouldn’t have run away without telling me.

 

© Ash N. Finn, 2016

3 thoughts on “Ginnie’s Diary (III) [CW series #18]

    1. 😉 Thanks so much! I just left a reply over on your fabulous post. There’s no doubt in my mind that I’d have any level of insanity required, the time can be quite evil though I find. Totally chuffed though, you are incredibly talented and individualistic and it’s a pleasure to follow your blog. Delighted to learn that you’ve taken the plunge and are doing this full-time.

      1. Haha, thanks babe. Full time can feel like the real insanity sometimes, but as my go to guru Steve Jobs said ~ “We’re here to put a dent in the universe. Otherwise why else even be here?”

Leave a Reply

