Daily Prompt: Third From the Top – Sleep Not

Sleep

He refuses to leave the fireside chair. What so many people crave and so often can’t seem to find he doesn’t want any longer. He has managed to not have it for three days now. She has offered to lift him up out of his chair and gently carry him over to the bed. He fears the finality of drifting into it this one last time and continues to object with ever weakening voice and body language. She knows and fights both it and the fear with him. They had drifted apart for a while after the kids had flown the nest and moved away, then found each other again as friends not lovers. Gentler with each other yet stronger together. Time’s nearly up his eyes signal to her and ask will she be alright without him. She nods and makes hers smile at him, whispering “I’ll be alright. See this through and leave my friend.”

sleep_20130406_inv,jpg

I don’t normally participate in any of the daily prompts – excuses excuses excuses not to be told here and what do they – the excuses – matter anyhow?

This one appealed to me …

Head to “Blogs I Follow” in the Reader. Scroll down to the third post in the list. Take the third sentence in the post, and work it into your own.

… and it fits in so very nicely with my frequent routine of looking up what other people write about, dream about, create or simply let stream out into this virtual community of ours.

Clicking on the sentence in bold font in the short piece of writing above will take you to the blog I follow and to the post from which it hails. Kudos, peace and wishes for lots of interesting dreams to artofstumbling!

Oh, and writing this post just reminded me of a book which I read many years ago and will now put on my list to re-read, Brother of Sleep by Robert Schneider.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Third From the Top – Sleep Not

  1. Wow, what a post. This really moved me.

    And that’s always been a favourite line of mine from that song, has so much meaning in it, wonderful to see your exploration of that 🙂

  2. I don’t usually do the daily prompt either …but when I read my third down third sentence ..I felt compelled to do it.

  3. This prompt has certainly turned up some interesting responses, there’s definitely something going on here 🙂

Leave a Reply

