Temperance

“Where am I? Why is it so dark? And why is the ground moving?”

She tries to touch her face and shivers when making contact with the cold steel surface.

“This has got to be a joke man. Where are you? Take this thing off me! You know that I can’t stand not seeing. It freaks me out.”

He loves it when a carefully designed plan comes together. So hard to be patient, but so much pleasure to be gained. It has taken the guts of a year to win her trust and now he has her right where he needs her to be.

Gotta love webcams and wireless technology. He zooms in on her head. Excellent welding job. She won’t be able to get it off no matter how hard she tries.

“Course it is, baby. You’re on your boat. You love being on your boat. We’re playing a new game, that’s all.”

“I don’t like it. I need to see. This is creepy.”

He watches her try to stand up.

“Took you some time to notice that you’re tied to the chair, darling. All part of the game. Don’t panic.”

“Your voice sounds tinny and far away somehow. Where are you?”

The downside of not wanting one’s better computer equipment go to waste, but it doesn’t matter that she’s beginning to cop on. He might as well tell her some of the truth now.

“Ah yeah, that’s because you hear me through the speaker on my old laptop. You asked me a while ago if you could have it when I don’t want it anymore. So I’ve decided to give it to you now.”

He watches her body relax a little and smiles at the screen.

“It’s a present of course. I’ve got a brand new one now.”

“Thanks, but you didn’t have to tie me to a chair and put this horrid steel thing over my head just to give me a present.”

“All part of the game, baby. Glad you like the present. We’re already having so much fun with it.”

“What’s wrong with you? You don’t sound like yourself at all. Since when are you so …”

“So strong, determined and uncompromising you mean?”

“You sound so cold!”

He watches her hands tremble and imagines her lips quivering and her eyes starting to well up beneath the shiny steel surface.

“Okay, baby. That too is just part of our new game. Don’t cry now, darling!”

“What’s so much fun about this? I’m not having any fun here. I’m freaked and I can’t see a thing. Take this bloody thing off me! Now!”

“Okay, I’m sorry. This bloody thing really looks quite beautiful and sexy from where I’m sitting. There’s a button at the back of it. See if you can find it. Press it and you’ll be able to see. Trust me.”

Her body language now speaks of hope. Ah, human nature finds hope in the most desperate circumstances.

“I see a Tarot card. What’s this about? Can you not just stop all this? You’re freaking me out.”

No point in prolonging this any further. He has to stick to his schedule.

“You’re the one who runs our lives based on bloody Tarot cards. You should know what it means, but I’m going to tell you now.”

She is trembling all over now. He is thrilled with himself for having bought a new laptop with such a superb graphics card.

“I know what you see, because I’ve placed it there right in front of your eyes. You keep saying that the Temperance card is so me, and that it always comes up as a blockage card when you lay your cards for me. You say it means that I’m too much of a pushover and that I compromise too much. Well, I’m telling you that this is your card now. I’ve read up about it you know. I’m one hundred percent sure it means that someone you know is just too good to be true.”

He presses the call button on his mobile phone and hears a loud bang.

And screaming.

She is screaming now.

He places his hands over his ears and says, “Your boat will sink tonight, baby.”

(c) Ash N. Finn, 2012

4 thoughts on “Temperance

  1. Thanks for reading my story/stories, and for returning ever so often!
    Folks, I’d encourage you to check out Jim’s place (http://jimlwright.wordpress.com/), some mouthwatering content to be found there!
    Have a look at the blogroll in my footer also for some further recommendations of places you might enjoy visiting.

  2. And to all of you who have given feedback via the various connective media we all have at our fingertips these days a big thanks.
    I am intrigued by the scale ranging from “scary” to “delicious” so far.
    Any other adjectives you’d like to share? Please do!

Leave a Reply

